How did I get a job as a full-stack developer in Just 3 months?

·

6 min read

So this might sound a bit unachievable but trust me guys it's 100 percent true and I am going to share my roadmap/plan/approach whatever you name it with you. I started my preparation in January and had two job offers in hand by the first week of April. In the end of this post, you will find the important tricks that allowed me to stay focused and super productive all this time.

Disclaimer: I was comfortable with basic data structure and algorithms before starting my web development journey. It's very important to know basic data structures and algorithms to become a better engineer but it's not important to become an expert in DSA. I got my job solely because of my web development knowledge.

Build the fundamentals strong

HTML & CSS

So I started my preparation in the month of January. In 3-4 days I completed basic HTML and CSS. Here are the resources that I followed. You don't need to go through everything in detail but you must get a basic idea of everything.

Javascript

This is the most important language in your whole web dev career. I followed this freecodcamp tutorial. I skipped through the topics I was already comfortable with and watched it at 2X speed. It took me just two days to complete it.

I created a very basic project just using HTML and CSS and Javascript. I created it by myself and googled anything specific that comes through. It took me around 3-4 days more but I got confidence with it. You can skip this if you are already comfortable with it because you are going to learn it anyway in later stages.

The fancy things

React

I directly moved to learn React library after basics. I was lucky to find this awesome tutorial by Bob Ziroll. My approach was to learn and create something side by side so that I get used to the technology. It took me around 3 days to complete the video tutorial. I then spend my next 15 days searching for react tutorials on the internet and creating a basic web application. I just googled tutorials and found few videos and followed them all. It took me more time to search for the proper resources to follow.

Nodejs/Express & MongoDB

You can follow this tutorial I found it good. But don't stick to it, search on youtube, there you might find some good recent tutorials. You will get a basic idea of Rest API along with the database and express framework. So basically now you have a basic understanding of frontend library i.e react and you also have a basic understanding of backend i.e. NodeJS and express ( NodeJS framework). So in just one month, you will be done with your complete web development resources.

Want More?

I don't prefer to buy courses because they are very long and you can find everything on youtube anyways in short. But still, some guys prefer to follow courses for more structured learning. My friend recommended me this course. I referred few topics from here but skipped most of them. You can find its backend NodeJS and Express part worth following. Also, authentication is the important part and I followed several other videos just for this part.

Make it shiny

Now comes the practice part. You should make a really good project keeping in mind that you are going to show it to recruiters while applying for jobs. It would take some time to make a perfect project. You have to start and keep improving your project, it will take a few iterations to get a project worth sharing with recruiters.

Keep it in mind guys projects matter a lot and recruiters get the idea of your knowledge directly just by looking at your project. So you have to make sure you show them all the cool stuff in your project. I created this project you can get some idea from it.

I started applying to jobs just after learning web dev and after getting some confidence in it. Interviews helped me to align to the correct path while preparing and following the right things. I had a very basic project initially that I improved over time.

Keep it in mind guys, interviews are also part of the process. If you get rejected in some interview then don't take it as a bad sign. Getting the right job takes some time and the interview process will guide you to notice the trends recruiters are following and move forward with your preparation according to that.

Tricks and Tactics

These are my learnings through this process that I am sharing with you guys. I had to figure these things out by myself but you can learn from my learnings directly. It helped me to learn things quickly and it would have been almost impossible for me if I haven't followed these.

Learn in iterations

For the first time, it's not possible to get everything in place. You will need to come back and watch tutorials, again and again, to understand things properly. Also, don't try to learn everything at once. If things seem complex to you, go back to practice and then come back again. Even experienced developers are still learning frameworks that they use in daily life so stop expecting that you will be able to learn everything. Instead set a goal, lets say you want to make a day tracker app, so just focus on building that and learn the things that are required to complete your project. In the end, the goal of any coding language or framework is to solve your problem.

Make notes

While following the tutorials keep a document side by side and paste important snippets in that. It will come in handy when you want to come back and revise things. Trust me you would never want to watch the whole tutorial again.

Practice while you learn.

It's super important to practice while you learn. If you won't practice enough you will forget things just after the next day. Keep a small project to work on. Working on it will teach you way more than following any tutorial.

Find Mentor

This is also super important. You will surely get stuck at some point in time and it would take days to find the real solution to that problem. I was lucky enough to have a bunch of friends to guide me throughout my journey. You can find mentors on Twitter. You can always DM me on Twitter here if you are unable to find any mentor.

Must Do

Follow me on Twitter

Haha just kidding, it's not a must-do but I tweet every day about web dev and my life updates on my Twitter. If you want to stay connected just follow me here.

Also, you can comment here for anything specific you want to ask me or DM me personally. Share it with your friends so that you all grow together.

Bye Bye